The Belrose Dup Concert on Saturday 5/10 at 4pm at FUMC Pasadena

May 8, 2014

The next Music at First Church program is coming up this Saturday, May 10 at 4:00pm. All of the works on the program are opera related and run the gamut from the touchingly pretty and sentimental (Massanet’s “Meditation” from Thais) to the uproariously virtuosic and humorous (Castelnueno-Tedesco’s “Figaro.”) This program includes my solos on Wagner – Liszt and Verdi – Liszt. Totally the OPERA! Laughing and Crying! Love and Crazy!

 Donations from this concert will go towards much needed choir robes. (By someday getting new choir robes we’ll save money on duct tape and safety pins?) Even if you can’t go to the concert please consider making a donation to the robes fund. I understand that for a $100 donation a new robe will be designated in the donor’s name. I hope that you will come to the concert on May 10 and perhaps invite a music-loving friend as well.
Music at First Church
First United Methodist Church of Pasadena
“The Belrose Duo Goes to the Opera”
David Garrett, cello
Junko Ueno Garrett, piano
500 E. Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA, 91101
Saturday, May 10, 2014
4:00 P.M.
Free Admission – Donations accepted
12 Variations on a theme                                  Ludwig van Beethoven
from Handel’s Judas Maccabäus WoO 45             (1770-1827)
Variations on a Theme of Rossini                              Bohuslav Martinů
“Méditation” from Thaïs                                                Jules Massanet
A Carmen Fantasy                                                              Buxton Orr
“Isolde’s Liebestod”                                                            Franz Liszt
from Richard Wagner’s Triston and Isolde            (1811-1886)
Concert Paraphrase on Rigoletto                                          Franz Liszt
By Giuseppe Verdi
Variations on a theme of Rossini                                Niccolò Paganini
“Tanzlied des Pierrot” from Die Tote Stadt       Erich Wolfgang Korngold
“Figaro”  from TheBarber of Seville          Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco
by Gioachino Rossini, a concert transcription       (1895-1968)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *